Words, Gratefulness, and God

“Is [God] King over every area of my life?”

This was a question posed during Bible study at church this morning. You know how God works on you about a specific thing, and then He just keeps bringing other life lessons along to reinforce it?  Well he’s been doing that lately, and it started with my mom.  Well, it actually started with me, when I defended a word that I didn’t think was so bad… Mom came to me with scripture, and implored me to seek God on the matter.  At first, I blew her off as being old school and out of touch, but God was working in my stubborn and rebellious heart anyway, and I eventually realized that all of my words (and thoughts) were not pleasing to Him… I was not practicing the presence of Christ!  I am thankful for my mama, who humbled herself and came under me.  If she hadn’t done that, there is no way that I would have listened to anything that she said.  

Alright, so basically what God has been teaching me is that even when I say something small or stupid like “crud!” or “stink!” that I am still being ungrateful, just as if I were saying a regular cuss word, and that my words (and attitude), are still unpleasing to the Lord.  Do I still catch myself saying those words?  Yes, it is really hard to change a habit, but now when I say them, I think of what I am doing.  I am being ungrateful to God!  The God who has given me everything that I’ve got, and to whom I have everything to be grateful for, including His Son, Jesus.  

So, to all of you reading this blog post, you have permission to hold me accountable. 😉 

Those who consider themselves religious and yet do not keep a tight rein on their tongues deceive themselves, and their religion is worthless.  Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.  -James 1:26–27 

And Colossians 4:6 says:

Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.

Love you all.  Grow in Grace! ~Elizabeth

2 thoughts on “Words, Gratefulness, and God

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

