Many things? or One Thing???

And Jesus answered and said unto her, Martha, Martha, thou carest and art troubled about many things: But one thing is needful, Mary has chosen the good part, which shall not be takes away from her.  
Luke 10:41-42  (1599 Geneva Bible)

Image

On Monday the 16th, I woke up, S-T-R-E-A-C-H-E-D and sighed as all of the things I “needed” to do came rushing to my mind. I’d just gotten back from the ladies’ Living Free conference the night before.  It had been an incredible weekend and now it was time to get back into the swing of things…  “unpack my duffel bag, finish writing that letter, do the chores, can the pears, keep up on laundry…” all of which DID need to be done, but just the morning before I had been in a tree, basking in Jesus’ presence and marveling at His handiwork.  Now I was going to trade in that “one thing that is needful” for being “troubled about many things.”  The Lord spoke a rebuke to my heart, very much in the way I think of His rebuke to Martha in Luke 10.  His gentle, chiding voice; “Elizabeth, Elizabeth, you are troubled about many things…”  I remembered the account of Mary and Martha and so I decided to make looking that up part of my quiet time with the Lord that morning.  It was refreshing to just sit and rest in his presence!I heard a message by Keith Green entitled “Devotions” or Devotion?  …that’s the real question.  Am I reading my Bible just so I can mark it off a “to-do” list, or am I truly wanting to hear the God of the universe speak to me, bask in the light of His presence and love, and thus, get to KNOW Him and His heart better?  Oh God, help me to continually choose the One thing that matters most!

Scan0021
~ Compliments of Laura Clawson ~
One thought on “Many things? or One Thing???

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

